
SECTION .0200 - COMMISSIONING 

 

12 NCAC 02J .0201 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CAMPUS POLICE OFFICERS 

Every campus police officer must meet the following requirements to obtain and maintain a campus police commission: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be a high school graduate or have passed the General Educational Development Test indicating high 

school equivalency.  A specific exception to this educational requirement is granted to: 

(a) an applicant who was the holder of a valid campus police commission on June 30, 1972; or 

(b) an applicant properly certified as a law enforcement officer by the Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission on March 14, 1973. 

In either case, the exception will not be applicable if the applicant has had more than a 12 month break in service; 

(3) have attained a score of not less than 80 percent on a written examination of basic knowledge of laws 

of arrest, search, and investigation, and of these Rules to be administered by a representative of the 

North Carolina Department of Justice; 

Note:  All examination questions will be based on the book Arrest, Search, and Investigation as published by and 

available from the Institute of Government, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, North Carolina  

27514, and these Rules. 

Applicants will be advised in writing of test dates and sites at least five days prior to the examination.  In the event an 

applicant fails to successfully complete the examination, only one re-test will be allowed.  Upon an applicant's failure to 

successfully complete the second test, the applicant must successfully complete accredited Basic Law Enforcement 

Training coursework prior to re-testing; 

(4) meet the minimum standards for criminal justice officers established by the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, appearing in Title 12, Chapter 9 of the North 

Carolina Administrative Code; which Standards are hereby incorporated by reference, and shall 

automatically include any later amendments and editions of the referenced material; 

(5) applicants who do not hold general certification as a law enforcement officer issued by the Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards Commission or the North Carolina Sheriff's Education and 

Training Standards Commission, must submit to and successfully complete a polygraph examination 

administered by the State Bureau of Investigation; 

(6) be at least 20 years of age; 

(7) have produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an 

immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive test result using a gas 

chromatography mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other reliable initial and confirmatory tests 

as may, from time to time, be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health and 

Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs; 

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual 

discarding of the specimen; 

(c) the drugs whose use shall be tested for shall include at least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine 

(PCP), opiates and amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(d) the test threshold values established by the Department of Health and Human Services for 

Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs are hereby incorporated by reference, and shall 

automatically include any later amendments and editions of the referenced material. Copies 

of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Campus Police Program 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

114 West Edenton Street 

Old Education Building 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at no charge from the office of the agency: 

Campus Police Program 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

Post Office Box 310 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 



(e) the test conducted shall be not more than 60 days old, calculated from the time when the 

laboratory reports the results to the date of employment; 

(f) the laboratory conducting the test must be certified for federal workplace drug testing 

programs, and must adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations and guidelines pertaining 

to the handling, testing, storage and preservation of samples, except that individual agencies 

may specify other drugs to be tested for in addition to those drugs set out in Item (7)(c) of 

this Rule; and 

(g) every agency head shall be responsible for making adequate arrangements for the services of 

a Medical Review officer (MRO) for the purpose of review of drug tests reported by the 

laboratory and such officer shall be a licensed physician; 

(8) notify the Campus Police Administrator in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer is 

arrested, pleads no contest, pleads guilty, or is found guilty of.  This shall include all criminal offenses 

except minor traffic offenses and shall specifically include any offense of Driving Under the Influence 

(DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI).  A minor traffic offense is defined, for purposes of this Item, 

as an offense where the maximum punishment allowable is 60 days or less.  The notifications required 

must specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was handled and the date of the 

conviction if applicable.  The notifications must be received by the Campus Police Administrator 

within 30 days of the date of the case disposition.  Applicants and officers required to notify the 

Campus Police Administrator under this Item shall also make the same notification to their Department 

Head within 20 days of the date the case was disposed of in court.  However, the notification to the 

Campus Police Administrator does not excuse the officer from making an independent notification 

otherwise required by either the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission or the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission.  The notifications required by this section 

shall be required while the application is pending as well as subsequent to a commission being issued; 

(9) be of good moral character as referred to in G.S. 17C-10(c); and 

(10) not have committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 2J .0209(b), such 

that the applicant would be ineligible for commissioning as a Campus Police officer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74G-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. October 4, 

2016. 

 


